Tessellating

Standard

Ever heard of tessellating? It’s when you take a few equilateral shapes and fit them together so that there are no gaps. I made some tessellations today with a few shapes. I made a tessellation with triangles and rhombuses, one with hexagons, one with fatter rhombuses, and Emily made one with triangles and fat rhombuses. My favorite is one I made, the one with the fat rhombuses. I think that the one with the hexagons was the easiest to make, but it was my first one. Irregular shapes cannot be made into tessellations, they will leave gaps. It’s also possible to make a tessellation using more than one shape, but these are called semi regular tessellations. I think that tessellations are really interesting and are are fun to make. I love shapes! ❤

– Grace

Leave a Reply

