Ambushed: Part 6

Standard

They could take all my fancy clothes, my breakfast in bed, and even my balcony, but they couldn’t take my home. Mother told me not to leave, so I wasn’t just going to let these people take my school. The world seemed to spin around me, sending me tumbling to the ground. I regained my balance and climbed into the attic and curled up into a ball for a while. I stared at my hands, looking for every flaw. I didn’t feel like myself. My stomach lurched. I pulled a mirror out of a little wooden box and stared at my reflection. There it was. I was wearing makeup. I didn’t like the way it looked or the way it felt. I wiped it all off and smiled. I felt like myself again.

I needed to think. What would they do to change my school? They would fix the broken lights, repave the parking lot, and things like that. Luckily, that doesn’t change anything about the inside. If they actually turned my home into a school, I could live in the attic and haunt the people downstairs like a ghost. I didn’t have enough food stored here to live longer than a few weeks, so I’d have to come down sometime. Most importantly, what would Miss Carpenter think? She was so nice to me, I couldn’t just abandon her! I’d send her a letter saying I was at a friend’s house. Hopefully, she wouldn’t wonder how I got friends while living in an abandoned school. It would be tricky, but I could manage.

I crept downstairs and whistled as quietly as I could. I stood perfectly still, listening for the sound of claws hitting the tile. I was just about to give up when I heard faint clicks from down the hall. I looked up just in time to be thrown to the floor by the weight of Carver. I scratched his head and led him into my new home.

That’s about when I started drawing up plans. I had balloons filled with molasses, a slingshot with paper ammo, and a switch I wired up to the lights.

First, I decided to try to scare them off. I watched three teachers sit in my hallway and talk. Right when they got up to leave, I pelted them with paper bullets. They looked around, startled. I started banging on the ceiling, making it sound like it was getting closer and closer to them. They started backing away slowly, but I wasn’t having that. I crawled forward and jumped directly over their heads, sending them frantically running away. I had to cover my mouth to keep myself from bursting out laughing. They ambushed me, now I’ll ambush them.

-Grace<3

Leave a Reply

