Adult Conversations

Standard

Another assignment from To Kill a Mockingbird!  Grace’s assignment was to think about Scout being in the courtroom during some rather unsavory testimony and whether she agreed with Scout that children should hear adult conversations or if she agreed with some of the adults in the courtroom that children should not hear what the grown ups had to say.  This is her opinion on the situation…if you agree with her or not, I think she’s done a great job with one of her first opinion pieces. 🙂

 

Children should be allowed to listen to adult conversation, whatever the topic, because they will be adults themselves one day. I believe that the earlier children learn about life, the easier it will be to merge into adulthood. Some people believe that children should be shielded from things such as bad words and violence, and I agree with them to a point. I do not believe that children should not hear a single bad word or see anything that might have gore in it, but there are limits. For example, if someone says something that you don’t want your child to say, you could tell them not to repeat it.

 

I especially think that children should be told about things that will or might eventually happen to them. I’m not saying that you should let your four-year-old watch The Matrix, but I don’t think they should be protected from life. Some people might say that children wouldn’t even understand things like sex and cursing, so they shouldn’t be exposed to them. But I think that if a child wouldn’t understand something, how could it hurt them?

 

Overall, I think that children should be told about certain things and see certain things, such as how babies are made and financial decisions, because they will need to know when they get older. Please understand that this is only my opinion, and that I am not trying to force my beliefs onto anybody.

-Grace ❤

2 responses »

  1. If I may, I’d like to address this directly to Grace, as she makes some very good points.

    Grace, my wife and I also home schooled our children – Sarah and Grace. One of the reasons we did is that we wanted to expose them to the best the world had to offer – the best books, the best ideas, the best experiences.

    One of the books we read that inspired us to home school used the example of how someone is trained to detect counterfeit money. For many days, weeks, months (maybe even years), you train the student to notice everything that makes up an authentic bill. You don’t expose them to counterfeits until they know the authentic bills so well that they can detect what is wrong with the counterfeit and reject it.

    This is how we tried to home school. We tried to get the best books that were truthful (history) and true-to-life (fiction). We chose picture books that had wonderful illustrations that shared beauty. As they grew older (about your age), I tried to find books that were both well written and that might inspire them to do their best in life (they really enjoyed “The Little House” books, “Anne of Green Gables”, “Misty of Chincoteague” and others). We chose not to have TV and watched only a few select videos not so much because we wanted to keep them away from anything good, but we wanted them to experience what was best so when they were older they could detect the counterfeit from the real.

    I would agree with you that children and youth should be invited in to adult conversations on important topics about money, about their bodies (how babies are made), about faith, about doubt and other feelings. It is best that they discuss these, however, with a trustworthy parent or adult who will speak the truth in love and show them what is best.

    I am so glad you are reading “To Kill a Mockingbird”. I don’t think I read it until I was in high school, but I think my daughters read it earlier. It is still one of my favorite books.

    Thank you for sharing your opinion. I’m enjoying following your education. It reminds me of things I shared with my children.

    Thanks again,
    Tony Roberts

  2. Thanks so much! You make a really good point, kids should discuss these things with parents, not just some random adult they meet at Target.

    I just finished reading To Kill a Mockingbird today and really enjoyed it. I’m glad you like our blog!

    -Grace<3

Leave a Reply

