Please Excuse Me While I Brag a Moment

Standard

Sometimes I am just amazed at what a mature, thoughtful, considerate young lady Grace is growing into. Don’t get me wrong…I appreciate her daily! Sometimes, though, she does something that really highlights how awesome she is.

Earlier this week, I agreed to help the Literacy Council with their Summer Literacy Program, a program where adults and children are welcome. The adults are in one room working on literacy skills while the children are in another room reading stories, watching puppet shows, dancing, etc. Well, I will be the first to admit that I am not the ideal candidate for partying with a bunch of small children. Without going into details, I’ll just say that this is not the sort of thing I enjoy. But the Literacy Council was kind of desperate for volunteers, so I agreed.

When I told Grace about it, she, without hesitation, offered to go with me. 🙂 She knew that I wouldn’t go nearly as bonkers with her there, and she jumped right on the opportunity to help (even though a room full of children is far from her cup of tea, too). I was just so very impressed with her willingness to help in a situation she knew she wouldn’t enjoy. What an awesome display of spontaneous selflessness and maturity. I am so very proud of her! 🙂

20130628-165835.jpg

The kids watching a puppet show about monkeys. 🙂

20130628-165901.jpg

Doing a crazy monkey dance. Yep, Grace and I chose to be the official picture takers and watchers of the children who weren’t dancing for this portion of the program. 😉

20130628-165917.jpg

The kids had a blast putting on their own puppet shows. 🙂

One response »

  1. I am very proud of both of you. I know you enjoyed the children anyway. They are so precious and cute. Thanks for being a volunteer!! 🙂 Love y’all.

Leave a Reply

