A Healthier CVS

Standard

Today, while watching CNN Student News, I learned that CVS will stop selling cigarettes. I have a few things to say about that.

 

On the one hand, I think it’s great that CVS has stopped selling tobacco products. It’s true that cigarettes are not exactly healthy, and CVS is indeed a pharmacy. They have every right to stop selling something proven to cause illnesses. On the other hand, I find it odd that out of every unhealthy thing in their store (soda, candy, alcohol, etc.) they chose to stop selling cigarettes. They are still carrying junk food and other unhealthy things that are more harmful or can cause health problems at a much faster rate. Maybe the owner just really hates the way cigarette smoke smells.

 

Over all, it’s good for them to get rid of unhealthy items in their stores, but it would make more sense to me to start somewhere different. In the CNN article, it said that only 19% of Americans smoke cigarettes, and I have a feeling more than 19% of Americans eat junk food. Also, my 12 year-old person could walk into a CVS and buy fifty pounds of junk food and candy, but I can’t buy a pack of cigarettes, so getting rid of junk food would affect the youth. Maybe replace the candy aisle with healthier snacks. They could replace the alcohol with that weird squeezable applesauce or something.

 

-Grace<3

2 responses »

  1. May I be the opposing advocate for a moment? Why do stores feel the need to rid themselves of anything? This is teaching people to let others regulate their behavior instead of just having self-control.

    Now, the store is more than welcome to sell what they like or not sell; it’s their business. However, their purpose is to sell people what they want, not to be their parent.

    Do I like cigarette smoke? No! Do I think people should smoke? No; it’s not healthy. I do recognize though that it is not a moral issue and people should have a right to choose for themselves what they would like to put into their own bodies. If they are willing to respect my boundaries and smoke away from my body, I am more than willing to let them infect their own lungs, should they choose to do so.

    p.s. I find it more likely that CVS is no longer selling cigarettes for the cost efficiency (lack of sales) rather than because they find them harmful. They would sell coke (the drug) if they knew people would buy it.

Leave a Reply

